How NOT to take Pictures at a Flyball Event

This weekend we went and watched a U-FLI tournament out in Davisburg, MI (one of my old 4-H stomping grounds).

As you probably gathered by now I am a ‘wannabe’ photographer and love taking pictures of dog events.  One day, I’d like to be professional and do professional dog photography but I have a long way to go.

Case in point this weekend.  I grabbed my camera and headed out in hopes of getting some amazing actions shots like this (these are NOT my shots…photo credits in captions):

 

Needless to say, my pictures did not at all turn out like this.  Instead, I got shots like this:

Blur...yes, that was a dog.

Blur…yes, that was a dog.

 

More dog blur...

More dog blur…

 

Strange ghosting.  Clearly took the shot too late, not that it matters as the dog would have been a blur.

Strange ghosting. Clearly took the shot too late, not that it matters as the dog would have been a blur.

 

Off the box dog blur.

Off the box dog blur.

Now, in my defense this was an indoor event and there was no flash photography allowed.  However, there has to be a way to get better shots than this.  I know because I’ve seen them!

Most embarrassingly, most of my shots came out like this:

Sweet!  A flyball jump.  Too bad I was going for a dog.

Sweet! A flyball jump. Too bad I was going for a dog.

I’m not kidding.  I have literally pic after pic after pic of this same jump with NO dog.  Even using the sport function on my camera was too slow to catch these extremely fast dogs.

I recently ordered a few books on indoor and low light photography as well as dog photography in general.  I’m hoping these will take my photography up to the next level.

I currently don’t have any advice on how to take better indoor, no light / low light photography of action shots at the moment.  However, I do plan on bringing that advice to you once I have it!

The event was great.  I had a blast and was reminded of why I love being involved in dog sports.  The community is fantastic, they are helpful and the events are just fun.  I can sit for hours and just watch.  I am going to be joining the flyball team Canine Express with my golden Blizzard.  I can’t wait and have already started on target training with him.

I did capture a few cute pics!  Look for more on flyball training and photography tips and images from me in future posts!

When's it my turn?

When’s it my turn?

Red Dog's White Zinfandel aka 'Zin'.  She's carrying something important for me!

Red Dog’s White Zinfandel aka ‘Zin’. She’s carrying something important for me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Events

2 responses to “How NOT to take Pictures at a Flyball Event

  1. You’ll get the hang of it soon. I’m no photographer and just use my phone for my camera. After some setting tests, etc. I figured it out. Great topic! Love the cutie dogs! 🐕🐶🐾

Leave a Reply

