Human Cookie! Inspired by the Cranberry/White Chocolate Chip Treat

So, yesterday as I was baking the decadent white chocolate and cranberry dog treats they smelled so good I wanted to eat one myself.  Needless to say, I did indeed try one and while it wasn’t “bad” it certainly wasn’t for the human palette either.  I wanted to prove my husband wrong as well when he said that he didn’t know if it would taste good; i.e. his skepticism was showing.  So, tonight while he was at an appt I went ahead and baked up a batch of these for the humans of the world!

Braewyn, my 18 month old daughter helped.  And by help I mean she watched and oohed and aaah’d at the mixture while throwing cranberries in for me.  I found these much quicker to make than dog cookies; probably because I didn’t have to roll and cut anything else, I simply dropped them on the baking sheet.

Needless to say these cookies were indeed absolutely delicious!  In case you’re wondering, no…the test kitchen isn’t about to switch business and go for the human kind.  I just wanted to share with you this recipe inspired by the dog treat so you can try it at home yourself.

Oh and Blizzard was VERY upset with me.  He’s still pacing the baking area wondering where his delicious freshly baked treats are.  He knows I baked something and when I bake (up until today) I ONLY bake for him.  Talk about a bent out of shape fuzz-face!  As I write this I’m trying one out and Blizzard is all eyes on me and pacing.  Silly dog!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 cups oats (not instant)
  • 3/4 cup dried/unsweetened cranberries
  • 1/2 a bag or 11 ozs  of white chocolate
Just because these are human treats doesn’t mean to skip on the organics!
If you’re using the freeze dried cranberries I recommended from the dog treat recipe you should soak them in hot water for 10-20 minutes so soften them.  That way you can strain them and put them in the mixture and don’t have to worry about the cranberries sucking up the moisture and making the dough too stiff.
These cookies are really sweet as it is so I STRONGLY suggest you don’t use sweetened cranberries!
Directions
1.  Preheat oven to 375°F.
2.  In a large bowl using an electric mixer combine the sugar, brown sugar and butter; mix well to cream together.
3.  Add in egg and vanilla extract and mix until combined.
4.  Add the cinnamon, baking soda, salt and flour and mix well.
5.  Fold in the oatmeal, dried cranberries and white chocolate chips- making sure that all ingredients are uniformly distributed.
6.  Drop dough 3 inches apart onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 375° for 10-12 minutes, just until the edges are lightly golden.
7.  Remove from oven and let cool for 2-3 minutes on the cookie sheet, then transfer cookies to cooling rack.
Enjoy my two legged friends!
2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Human Cookie! Inspired by the Cranberry/White Chocolate Chip Treat

Leave a Reply

