Peanut Butter Spread

I promise that I won’t post ONLY recipes but the rain around here lately has me inside and there’s nothing like baking on a cold rainy day.  Lately it’s been for the dog; much to my husband’s dismay.  You benefit…he just shakes his head….

Today I made a super quick and easy spread that can be put on dog cookies, stuffed in a Kong or given by spoon.  This came from a request from a friend who wanted a frosting recipe that was good enough for people to eat as well.  The “test kitchen” was open today and while we set out to make a frosting we ended up with more of a spread.  The consistency of this isn’t just right to call it a frosting.  However, it doesn’t take away from the tastiness of this recipe and the fact that your dog with LOVE this addition to any treats you buy or bake.  This is a really nice compliment to the Peanut Butter & Banana treats I posted awhile back.

Ingredients 

  8 oz of reduced fat cream cheese

4 oz of creamy peanut butter

1 tablespoon of Canola Oil

1 teaspoon of honey (optional)

 

 

 

 

Directions

This recipe is extremely easy. You’re just going to blend all the ingredients in a bowl until they are all smoothly blended.

You’ll need to store this in the fridge afterwards.  It can sit for awhile on treats.  You will need to warm it up a bit after it’s been in the fridge or else it will be too stiff to spread.

Tips

8 oz of cream cheese is the size of the container above.  To figure out how to get 4 oz of peanut butter just fill the 8 oz cream cheese container half way.  Easy!

The honey in this recipe is completely optional.  Honestly, your dog isn’t going to mind one way or another.  The honey is added if  you (the human) plan on sharing this with your four legged companion.

Taste?

Since we made this at the specific request for something good for humans and their furry friends it required some human taste testing!

I tasted this prior to the honey and it’s thick and well, tastes like a super creamy peanut butter.  Adding just a teaspoon of honey (which won’t hurt your dog by any means) makes it more easily spreadable and adds enough sugar to make it taste good to the human pallet.

My two children also helped give their opinion.  They both LOVED it.  My oldest daughter said, “This would be great on bagels”!   And you know what?  She’s right.  This would make an awesome spread on bagels for us hairless two legged folks.

Keep in mind though this is meant for your dog so if it doesn’t quite suite your tastes Blizzard and I apologize.  However, Blizzard whole heartedly approved!

Blizzard is eagerly waiting for the first frosted treat

The first bite is soooo tasty!

After cookie smile. I think he approves.

My youngest daughter makes this exact face. We call it SCRUNCHY FACE and it's the ultimate face of happiness. All from the peanut butter spread!

 

Let me know if you’ve tried this and what you or your furry friend think!  Send pictures of  them enjoying the treat and I’ll put them up here on Bark Culture.

As always if you have requests that you’d like the test kitchen to try out, shoot me an email or comment!

 

Bone Appetite!  

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Peanut Butter Spread

  1. Ny

    We had thought about cream cheese as a base! Glad to know it worked out.. now.. to make carob cupcakes or some sort of tart with a dollop of whipped cream cheese.

    OHOHOH! Make apple-blueberry tarts with “cream” on top! They could be super pretty!

    • My next “test kitchen” recipe is going to be with carob. I’ll let you know how that works out. I have a few recipes I’ve been mulling over and can’t wait to try them out. I think a banana carob cream cheese spread would go really well on the peanut butter treats!

      Mmmm… apple-blueberry tarts! I will totally add those to the “test kitchen” list!

  2. I take issue with your brand of peanut butter. 😉

Leave a Reply

