Man vs Dog

I think there’s a bit of jealousy going on in my household.  My husband has told me more than once, “You love that dog more than me”.  I always tell him “No Way!”

We went through this same discussion last week.  He said, “I swear, you love the dog more than me.”  As usual, I said, “No, of course not.”  My husband than stretched out his legs on the couch and relaxed to watched TV.  The dog came up, wagging his tail and clearly wanted to sit on the couch with me (yes, yes I DO let the dog on the couch with me).  I poked my husband’s leg and said, “Hey, you need to move…you’re taking up too much of the couch and the dog wants up here.”  My husband, not moving, just glared at me.  Oops… I wasn’t making a great case against loving the dog more than my husband.

I really don’t love the dog more than my husband, but let’s face it…the dog is super fuzzy, he feels great to rub, and when I need to do something or don’t want to rub him anymore I gently set him aside.  He might pout a second but he moves on.  My husband on the other hand, he’s rough to rub (I’m thankfully he isn’t as fuzzy!), he weighs considerably more than the dog and he too pouts when I stop or have to move but he’s not easily persuaded to stop pouting by a night blueberry, yogurt treat (well he might be… maybe I should start keeping chocolate cake on hand…hmmmm….).

His other big sticking point is that I left the dog lay on the bed with me; and of course I let him lay on my husband’s side…pillows and all.  I can blame my husband; who wants to sleep on a bed that is full of dog hair, dirty and smells like a bully stick (and if you haven’t smelled them, they are VILE).  I can’t help it though, I like the soft warm fuzzy animal next to me; he’s like a giant stuffed animal.  PLUS I can keep a better eye on him without having to kennel him.

At the end of the day though, it’s really not that I love the dog more than my husband.  I love them both but I love them in different ways.  My husband has nothing to fear.  Now, if I could only figure out how to make my lap bigger so I can accommodate a 16 month old Momma’s gal and the dog life would be good…but that’s another story.

Besides, how can you NOT love this face?!

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Man vs Dog

  1. Wendy Mydlo

    don’t let him have the bullie stick before bed. When you run out of them I’ll send you more.

Leave a Reply

