Peanut Butter & Banana Treats

Blizzard is addicted to peanut butter!  I mean, I don’t think even raw steak would affect him like this so I decided that one of the first recipes the “test kitchen” would try out was a Peanut Butter and Banana dog treat.  Let’s say this was a HUGE success so I present them here for you to try out at home.

There is flexibility with this recipe as well as I’ll explain below which I really like!

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2-3/4 cup mashed banana
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 egg white (optional)

1.  Preheat Oven to 300 degrees.

*Even though these are dog treats you should still practice safe kitchen standards using clean counters, and make sure you wash your hands!

2.  Lightly grease a baking sheet.  I used Canola oil which I rubbed on the baking sheet with a paper towel.  It’s up to you which type of oil you use, Flaxseed would most likely be a better choice.  Just don’t use butter, Pam or Crisco!  Not good for your furry friend.  I would purchase a separate baking sheet for your dog cookies.  Depending on the recipe they tend to leave a residue you can never quite seem to get rid of.  Also, if you’re like me who burnt the first batch I forever has dog shaped burn marks now etched in my cookie sheets.

I like to use organic and name brand.  Just because they are for my dog doesn’t mean I should skimp!  You can often find ripe bananas for cooking at the grocery store and these are usually cheaper and luckily exactly what you  need.  I purchased mine, which were organic, for only $.39 lb.  Can’t beat that!

As a note, you can substitute the oatmeal out for a variety of other ingredients; wheat germ, flax seed, or any heavier type agent to give them texture such as Wheaties or shredded wheat. 

3. Stir together the egg, peanut butter, banana and honey; blend thoroughly.

4.  Stir in the flour and oatmeal and mix well.  Your mixture should be doughy.  You’ll be rolling this out on a floured board so make sure the mixture is no long “sticky”.   Depending on which ingredient you add (oatmeal, wheat germ, flaxseed…etc) and how banana you may need to add more flour.  Keep adding flour until your mixture reaches a nice dough.

Bonus points to those geeks out there who can tell me the character on the TV screen!

5.  Put dough on a floured counter and roll out.  You can roll these out to whatever thickness you like.  I like mine a bit thicker but thinner treats will come out crispier overall.  Use various cookie cutters or shapes.

6.  Put cut out pieces on the pre-greased cookie sheets.

7.  As an optional set you can take the egg white and brush that on the dog treats.  This gives it a nice glossy look.  Otherwise, it has no practical function!  Your dog won’t care but you will!

8.  Bake the biscuits in your preheated oven until dried and golden brown (note: if you don’t use the egg they won’t become golden brown).  This can take anywhere from 15-30 minutes depending on how thick or thin you rolled the shapes out.  I suggest setting a timer for 10 minutes and checking them frequently.  The test kitchen *burnt* their first batch because they were rolled thinner.

9.  Remove from over and place on wire racks to cool.

10.  Share with your furry friend!

Now, while these treats have ingredients safe for humans to eat it’s still up in the air whether or not you would want to eat them.  My daughter (who turns 12 today – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!) kept stealing them from the cooling racks and eating them.  I will admit, they smelled really good.  She insists they are very tasty.  Upon seeing my daughter scarfing them down my husband decided to give them a try.  He picked one up, took a huge bite, chewed and ran to the garbage to spit it out.  Needless to say, he DID NOT like them.  He says they taste like paste.  Regardless of what the humans think, this is meant for someone with four legs and fur.  If they like peanut butter or bananas I’m sure they will eat these with no complaints!

I gave these to my sponsors for the WCGHS “Hike on the Dike”.  They look great in a treat bag and ribbon which can all be purchased fairly cheaply so consider these for gifts the next time you need a canine treat!

I believe the “test kitchen” is going to work on Salmon dog cookies this weekend and an awesome frosting recipe that would be a perfect companion to these cookies!  BONE APPETITE!  

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Peanut Butter & Banana Treats

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Spread | BarkCulture

Leave a Reply

